Vedic Chanting

Mar 21, 2021
Vedic Chanting, BikashkaliDas ,

March 06, 2021  Timing – 10:30 am – 12 noon 

venue: XuFancheng culture study center, Pondicherry, India 

About Vedha pathshala, Tiruvandipuram – 

The students are strictly orthodox and belong to the school/ gurukul of Vaishnavism. They study Vedas in the traditional gurukulam style. The traditional model of Vedic education relies on oral tradition where the student learns Vedas by hearing and repeating from the guru. Thus the original intonations of Vedas have been preserved in the same form over many generations and over several thousand years.

1. Guru S. Desikan Swamy 2. D. Achutan (student) 3. D. Ranga ramanujan (student) 4. M. Veraraghavan (student) 5. A.S. Srinathan (student) 6. K. Srivathsan ((student) 7. J. Dasasathyan (student) 8. J. Sri Krishnan (student) 9. S. Ariavind (student)

Vedic Chanting, BikashkaliDas

Importance of “Pancha Sookathams” & “Pancha Shanti” -:

The Vaishnava Pancha Suktas are 1. Purusha Sukta 2. Narayana Sukta 3. Sri Sukta 4. Bhu Sukta 5. Nila Sukta. Sookathams is a hymn in praise of the deity intended. It praises the deity by mentioning its various attributes and paraphernalia. Pancha Shanti is a prayer for Peace found in Upanishads. Generally, they are recited at the beginning and end of religious rituals and discourses.

The significance of the oral recitation of Vedas :

The oral tradition of the Vedas (Śruti, श्रुति ) consists of several “recitations” Vedic pats ( Vedic mantras ). The traditions of Vedic chant are often considered the oldest unbroken oral tradition in existence. Manusmriti states श्रुतिस्तु वेदो विज्ञेय: meaning, “Know that Vedas are Śruti”, Śruti means the tradition of oral recitation. Thus, it includes the four Vedas including its four types of embedded texts—the Samhitas, the Upanishads, the Brahmanas, and the Aranyakas.

Of the śrutis, the Upanishads are widely known, and the central ideas of the Upanishad śrutis are at the spiritual core of Hindus.

The śruti literature includes the four Vedas: Rigveda Yajurveda Samaveda Atharvaveda.

Each of these Vedas includes texts: Samhitas, Brahmanas, Aranyakas, Upanishads.

śruti and smṛti:  Smriti means that which is remembered, traditionally written down, and constantly revised. śruti is transmitted verbally across the generations.

Tones in Vedic chanting: – Vedic chantings use 4 tones – i) Udatta उदात्त (middle tone),  ii)Anudaatta अनुदात्त (lower tone), iii) Svarita स्वरित (higher tone) iv) Deergha Svarita दीर्घस्वरित (High tone extended).

November 7, 2008, UNESCO proclaimed the tradition of Vedic chanting a “Masterpiece of the Oral and Intangible Heritage of Humanity”.