Symposium in memory of Prof. XuFancheng

March 10- 2018: “Symposium in memory of Prof. XuFancheng”  organized by PICFA (Pondicherry India China friendship association ) in collaboration with Dept. of Tourism Govt. of Pondicherry, Embassy of the People’s Republic of China in India, INTACH Pondicherry, and Sri Aurobindo Ashram. t

His Excellency Ambassador Luo Zhaohui was a student of Prof. Xu Fancheng. The symposium wishes to build a spiritual, art and cultural relationship between India and China through the works of the great scholar and artist Prof. XuFancheng.

#Chinaindia, #PICFA, #PondicherryIntegratedCultural&FriendshipAssociation, #PondicherryIndiaChinaFriendshipAssociation, #symposiumofxufancheng - 3

Theme: The life and legacy of a Chinese scholar, Indologist and Artist, Hu Hsu (Xu Fancheng), who lived in India from 1945 to 1978 and translated numerous Indian Classical texts, contemporary writings as well as the works of great modern philosophers such as Sri Aurobindo from Sanskrit and English into classical Chinese, and created about 300 paintings in the traditional Chinese style. He had the opportunity to study at Shantiniketan.

Keynote Speaker: His Excellency Luo Zhaohui,Chinese Ambassador to India

Welcome Note: Shri V.Narayanasamy Chief Minister Pondicherry

Gratitude Note: Mrs Radha Srinivasagopalane, President PICFA(Pondicherry India China friendship association)


  1. Prof. Huang Xinchuan: Former Director of the Institute of Asia-Pacific Studies, Chinese Academy of Social Sciences, Former Research Fellow
  2. Prof. Huang Xianian: Former Research Fellow of the Institute of World Religions , Chinese Academy of Social Sciences .
  3. Prof. Nirmala Sharma: Art Historian and Professor, International Academy of Indian Culture; Tagore National Fellow; Core member of ICCR, Trustee of IGNCA
  4. Prof. Priyadarsi Mukherji: Centre for Chinese & South-East Asian Studies, School of Language, Literature & Culture Studies, Jawaharlal Nehru University
  5. Prof. Sharad Joshi: Pro-Vice-Chancellor from the Maharaja Sayajirao University of Baroda; Chairman, Sri Aurobindo Society, Baroda Branch and Sri Aurobindo Society, Gujarat State Committee
  6. Mr Richard Hartz, Sri Aurobindo International Centre for Education, Pondicherry
  7. Mr Matri Prasad: Secretary, Sri Aurobindo International Centre for Education, Pondicherry
  8. Mr . Devdip Ganguli : Sri Aurobindo International Centre for Education, Pondicherry
  9. Mr. T.Jaisakthivel : Assistant Professor, University of Madras
  10. Mr Eric Courage: Aurovillian